INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Engraving Crash Course  (Read 25384 times)

Offline D.Ellis

• Trad Bowhunter
Engraving Crash Course
« on: May 14, 2014, 11:03:00 PM »
A few guys on here expressed interest in trying the hammer and chisel style of engraving. I will attempt to give a very basic demo of how I do it and the tools involved. There is more to learn than can be covered in a quick online tutorial, and I am just a beginner at this challenging craft, so I'll barely be able to scratch the surface(HAR HAR!    :D    ) of the topic.

Let's start with the tools. There are 3 basic shapes of cutting tool that I use. These are the flat, the square(or 90*) and the round. I have the flats in several widths depending on how small an area I need to fit the graver into. Also the round obviously makes a different groove depending on diameter.......the square cuts a 90* v groove, with the width of the cut increasing with the depth of the cut.

The sharpening angle of the cutting face varies depending on the material you are cutting. The harder the material, the steeper(blunter) the angle for strength.
In addition to the angle of the face, all these chisels have a small heel on the bottom of the cutting edge. Without enough heel the cutter will dive too deep in the metal, too much heel causes drag around corners and will not allow a clean cut. In this pic of the bottom of the flat, you can see the heel as a bright line across the tip.

60# GN Lil'Creep Jackknife
67# osage selfbow
62# "Zang Hill" string follow

Offline D.Ellis

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Engraving Crash Course
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2014, 11:14:00 PM »
The bottom of the square cutter has a parallel heel like this. I couldn't get a good pic so found one elsewhere.

I use handles for the gravers that are made of steel, either my own, or these ones from Ngraver........known as Belgian style.