Africa!

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: What glove do you use when bowhunting with a sidearm?  (Read 9849 times)

Offline MedicWithAMouth

• Trad Bowhunter
What glove do you use when bowhunting with a sidearm?
« on: July 14, 2015, 08:39:00 PM »
Hey guys, this is my first post here.  I've been lurking for the past. Purple months, and thoroughly enjoyed the community here. I'm pretty new to hunting, but shot bows in 4-H and JOAD when I was in high school.

I'm just wondering what all y'all like for a glove when you're hunting dangerous game, and still want to have quick access and good trigger control should something go apocalyptically wrong and you have to draw your side arm. (Assuming you hunt with a sidearm.... If not, or if you use a tab, I'd still be interested in hearing what gear you use.)

Take care,
Chris

Offline Sam McMichael

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: What glove do you use when bowhunting with a sidearm?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2015, 09:22:00 PM »
I hunt with a tab exclusively, so it is no problem to quickly flip it around and pull the pistol. I don't hunt much dangerous game, so I carry a handgun primarily for two legged predators, making a quick draw generally unnecessary.
Sam

Offline MedicWithAMouth

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2015, 05:36:00 PM »
Sam, thanks for the input!

Your not the first person to suggest a tab, and I used them when I was shooting Olympic style archery. I might have to look into that option again, as I'm having a bear of a time finding a glove that I like.

Offline Scott E

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2015, 09:54:00 PM »
Try a  bateman tab and keep the elastic loose.

I don't think I could get my fingers inside of a trigger guard with a glove on.
Self reliance cannot be bought

Offline MedicWithAMouth

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2015, 09:27:00 AM »
I'll check out the Bateman.