INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: High Hopes for Big ‘Lopes - by Mickey E. Lotz  (Read 2587 times)

Offline Terry_Green

• Trad Bowhunter
High Hopes for Big ‘Lopes - by Mickey E. Lotz
« on: June 18, 2003, 05:41:00 AM »
High Hopes for Big ‘Lopes

by Mickey E. Lotz

The sun rose slowly over the Wyoming prairie, illuminating in a brilliant splash of gold, the water hole that lay some 12 yards due south of the blind they called "Wind Break". Two hours and 40 minutes after I climbed into the blind in the pre dawn darkness I peered out of the shooting window to witness two nice antelope bucks coming in to drink some of that precious fluid upon which all life depends. The first of what I hoped would be an endless parade of trophy class pronghorns. It is because water is so rare on the prairie that antelope are forced to come to water holes to drink, thus allowing bowhunters the best opportunity to harvest one of the sharp eyed prairie speedsters.

At 8 yards I studied their horns through my Ranging 5 power binoculars making mental calculations according to the outfitters recommendations for recognizing a "good" buck. Horn width must be wider than their ears. Horn length at least twice as long as their ears and the horns should be “heavy”. Good prongs or cutters located above the tips of their ears, and good curl on top. In addition, if the tips had ivory showing they were definitely trophy class bucks. No doubt about it, both of these fellows were Pope & Young candidates, with one being slightly larger than the other. The bucks were standing side by side, a mere 24 feet away (easily within my range) and totally unaware of my presence. Decision time! Just then I heard a little voice inside my head. It was my good buddy Maggie's last words of stern advise before I left home, " NOW DON'T GO SHOOTIN’ THE FIRST BUCK YOU SEE ".  It's advice he’s given me before. Advise I usually ignore! This time however, I reached back and grabbed my 35 mm camera instead of my bo