INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Juli Adcock  (Read 3791 times)

Offline Terry_Green

• Trad Bowhunter
Juli Adcock
« on: January 16, 2007, 07:35:00 AM »
TG handle:Strawberry Roan
Height: As tall as O.L., my legs reach from my butt to the ground, lol
Home State: I've adopted New Mexico or it's adopted me
TradGang member number:6564

(TG)- Tell us about yourself.  

(Strawberry Roan)- Well, I was born in North Dakota about 3 miles south of the Canadian border.  I'm an Air Force brat, so I moved around a lot growing up, most of the time being spent in the Midwest and the South.  I graduated from Milton High School in Milton, FL and went to college for 3 years majoring in agribusiness with a minor in psychology.  Marriage interrupted the college plans and I went on to my first career working with at first, the mildly developmentally disabled, then at a state institution for the severely and profoundly mentally and physically handicapped in Redfield, South Dakota. I was first introduced to firearms and specialized in precision rifles and silhouette shooting.  The next phase of my life found me as a single mother supporting one son and looking for a career that would provide well for us without having to finish the degree I had started, as well as one that would challenge me and help others.  I ended up putting myself through both EMT school and then police recruit training in Pensacola, FL.  The Sheriff's Office hired me first, and I was assigned as a patrol deputy for Escambia County, FL.  I spent 7 1/2 years on patrol and was then assigned to Judicial security, during the abortion clinic bombings and increased attacks against judicial personnel.  I made Deputy First Class and retired in 1997 due to several work injuries as well as being diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis.  Since that time, I've had to learn to slow down some and smell the roses along the way.  I remain as active as possible on my good days and taught myself how to spin wool, knit and r