INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Anybody struggling with PTSD?  (Read 2583 times)

Offline J. Holden

• Trad Bowhunter
Anybody struggling with PTSD?
« on: August 14, 2015, 09:55:00 PM »
I am reaching out to my fellow veterans with the above question.

I am currently a firefighter/paramedic.  I have been at my current department for 15 yrs.  I have a friend and former Captain on the department that was recently denied a line-of-duty pension.  He is struggling with PTSD.

He was denied on the basis that he didn't have all the signs and symptoms of PTSD.

My question is what can I do to help him?  He's in therapy, taking medications, but I just am wondering what can I do?  What does he need from a friend?  I'm not looking to "cure" him, just support him.

It's difficult because sometimes I just don't know what to say.  Our one strong common bond was work and he doesn't want to hear about it anymore.  I get it but it makes for some quiet moments.

If anyone can give me some pointers I'd really appreciate it.  I just hate to see this man struggle like he does.

-Jeremy   :coffee:
Pslam 46:10

"A real man rejects passivity and takes responsibility to lead, provide, protect, and teach expecting to receive the greater reward." Dr. Robert Lewis

Online M60gunner

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Anybody struggling with PTSD?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2015, 01:13:00 AM »
Was his interview conducted by a physiological doc or a board? How long was his interview, anything less than 1 hr. Is not fair to him. it takes a while with people that have deep depression to show it. They usually put up a facade to others to help them coup.

Offline J. Holden

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2015, 07:21:00 AM »