INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: On Things Lost and Found - Doug DuRant  (Read 2560 times)

Offline Terry_Green

• Trad Bowhunter
On Things Lost and Found - Doug DuRant
« on: October 27, 2003, 05:17:00 PM »
On Things Lost and Found

By Doug DuRant
October 25, 2003

On things lost and found, I am an official expert just ask my friends. I have lost many things in the woods over the years, and they take great enjoyment in reminding me. I have found a few too, but I digress.

Today after a pleasant autumn morning hunt I decided to walk over to the tree in the thick overgrown cut where I saw the buzzard sit twice last Sunday while hunting with Pete Patterson on Webb's 40 acres. I knew with very little doubt what I might find, and I did find the spike I had shot the preceding Wednesday evening. The arrow was still in the hide and through the shoulder blade next to the spine. It looked like it had broken a rib, and maybe hit the off leg bone. I would guess the arrow had 10" of penetration or so, but as the lack of a blood trail indicated, it didn't look like it exited the body cavity. All that was left of the deer was hide and bones. The carbon arrow was intact, but the point of the Wensel Woodsman broadhead was bent. I feel sure the deer died at the end of it's run. It was about 200 yards from where I shot it as the GPS reads a little over a tenth of a mile.

On the night I tried to track it I must have come within 25 yards of the down deer, and the next morning I must have been as close as 10 yards. It turned back and made it into the edge of the thick cut or I would have recovered the deer even without a blood trail. Boy do I miss my faithful beagle Penny this year. That makes 2 deer of the three I have killed, which would have been recovered with her help.