Main Boards > The Bowyer's Bench

About wood to use on bow making

(1/2) > >>

edy5dms:
Hi every one this is my first post in this forum..

I'm currently a university student and residing in Sri Lanka and have been involved in archery for some time and now wish to move on to Bare bow instinctive type of shooting from the modern bows sinse I started to realize the true talent and the joy in bare bow instinctive shooting..

So I have decided to build a reflex-deflex type long bow via lamination technique. Since there is no bow making culture here in Sri Lanka we have to research a lot in to bow making and the main concern has become what type of wood to use for the bow.

So I would really appreciate if you guys could pitch in to explain the kind of properties you’re looking for in the wood which goes in the different parts of the bow, such as:
- What wood quality are you looking for the belly of the bow, for backing and also for the riser of the bow?
- What is a good thickness for a single lamination and the taper of the strip as in Rule of thumb?
- How many layers in lamination as in Rule of thumb?
- Also use of fiberglass backing
Pease pitch in as best as you can and any even a small suggestion is greatly appreciated.
Since I'm have to and plan to use local woods to build this bow I need this kind of information to find local woods that will fit the bill. We are planning to experiment with different woods but still to choose a set of them this kind of info is really needed due to our lack of bowyers knowledge.

This is probably the first bow of this kind In Sri Lanka so please give us a hand and help create history in Sri Lanka.

I kindly apologies for the long post, please bare with me.

Thanks in advance to all and greatly appreciate your help....Cheers

Pat B: