INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: How accurate should I expect shooting instinctive?  (Read 220 times)

Offline Deadeye33

• Trad Bowhunter
How accurate should I expect shooting instinctive?
« on: April 19, 2004, 11:07:00 PM »
I am new to recurve shooting. So far I've been practicing in my basement shooting only about ten yards but after getting my bow tuned I am starting to really stack up the arrows!  I was wondering how good one should expect to get shooting without sights?  I know there are amazing shots like Howard Hill some other trick shot artists but I was just wondering what types of goals to set that would be realistic?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Deadeye33
Deadeye33

Online Terry Green

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: How accurate should I expect shooting instinctive?
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2004, 11:16:00 PM »
Once you set a goal, you have automaticaly set a limit. So, if you must...set it way in advance of your expectations.

You can be as good as you want, if you apply yourself and have dedication.

Nobody can make you a good shot except you.  But many can help you along the way.

Get your form in order, nail it down, then get outside and shoot....shoot....and shoot some more.  Don't be afraid to shoot long distances.  You will learn a lot by shooting out to 30 and 40 yards along with 10 and 20 yarders.

Best of luck to ya.....its a grand journey.
"An anchor point is not a destination, it's an evolution to execution" - Me

"It's important,  when going after a goal, to never lose sight of the integrity of the journey" - Andy Garcia

Black Powder Gang  ~   Loop Addictions

Offline Scott Greaves

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2004, 11:31:00 PM »