INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Bowyer Joe Don Jones is BACK!  (Read 2531 times)

Offline Ghost Dog

• Trad Bowhunter
Bowyer Joe Don Jones is BACK!
« on: February 21, 2018, 06:28:00 PM »
I've been collecting and shooting selfbows for twenty years. As much as I enjoy and admire glass laminated longbows and recurves, for me there is no glass bow that compares with a masterfully crafted selfbow or backed wood bow, and I emphasize "masterfully crafted". I don't know how many threads I've read over the years written by guys who are looking for a bowyer who makes selfbows, and every single time a bunch or responses will claim that you can just make your own selfbow. Sure, pretty much anyone can get a stick to bend and put a string on it and make an arrow fly, but when you've shot as many selfbows and backed wood bows as I have, there is a world of difference when a selfbow or backed wood bow is made by someone who has made hundreds of them. Joe Don Jones is one of those rare bowyers.

Offhand I can only think of only four selfbow bowyers who qualify as masterful and make bows for sale; John Strunk, Jim Rempp, Gerald Welch and Joe Don. I think there would be more selfbow and backed wood bow makers if they were easy to make. They're not, at least not outstanding examples.

When Joe Don stopped making bows it left a gap that no one else came along to fill. No one to my knowledge has as much experience with osage as Joe Don. I have no idea how many selfbows and backed bows he's made, but shooting one of his bows makes it very clear that his understanding of and ability with osage is something special. I have three bows from JD. The first one was a Phenom made in 2002. It's a reflex/deflex bamboo backed 64" longbow. The only other bamboo backed bow I own that is in the same masterful category was made by Dean Torges. Joe Don also makes recurves, statics, English longbows, reflex/deflex and selfbows, of course. Bamboo backing is offered.