INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Sky Archery Rogue r/d longbow  (Read 198 times)

Offline barking mad

• Trad Bowhunter
Sky Archery Rogue r/d longbow
« on: October 19, 2006, 03:58:00 PM »
Only recently did I find this great forum. If my writing style is unclear or offensive to anyone, please let me know. English is not my mother tongue. :)  

A few impressions on a bow that I've been shooting for the last five years.

This is a one-piece Rogue longbow by Sky Archery, a company which, sadly, does not exist any more. It is 66" long, pulling 50#@28", or 55#@30", which is what I draw. It's made entirely of maple actionwood, limbs in the autumn brown camo, the riser in brown/grey. Everything is laminated under clear glass which shows the structure of the laminations very nicely. The finish is half-matt. Grip is shaped to a low pistol, which fits my hand very well.

The bow has a rather pronounced reflex-deflex shape. This, without a doubt, explains the performance. It is a fast shooter. I know that everybody's tired of the numbers game but just to  give some sort of an idea, I've shot 520 gr arrows  185fps with my 55#30" draw. 18 strand FF string. BUT, a bow's performance, IMHASO, is not just in the speed. I'll come back to this later.

The draw is smooth, with no noticeable stacking up to 30". Here's a quick graph:

25"-42#

26"-43#

27"-46#

28"-49#

29"-52#

30"-55#

The test was conducted under barely exact and almost scientific conditions with a hand-held bow scale and an arrow with a rubber band for draw length indicator. So take it for what it's worth.