INFO: Trad Archery for Bowhunters

Author Topic: Woodpecker Drill by Simmons  (Read 516 times)

Offline longbow54

• Trad Bowhunter
Woodpecker Drill by Simmons
« on: February 13, 2004, 07:11:00 PM »
Just wondering if anyone has used the woodpecker drill & bolts made by Jerry Simmons ,I hunt a lot of hardwood trees,and screw in steps wear me out by the time I get them in. I would use some of the lightweight stick ladders but mostly hunt public land where theft might be a problem, I'd appreciate any info good or bad.

Thanks,
Todd
Pick a Spot

Offline Broken Arrow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Woodpecker Drill by Simmons
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2004, 11:48:00 PM »
Todd  I have been using the woodpecker drill & bolts now for about 4 Years, and like it very much. It will keep people out of your stands. I have about 19 putup stands and I use it on most of them. It is a whole lot cheaper then buying screw in steps for each stand. Tommy

Offline longbow54

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2004, 09:18:00 AM »
Tommy, how much effort does it take to drill in to a tree like a water oak. Do you use the bolts by simmons or use something else and also do you have to take something with you to drive the bolts in or can you just push them in by hand.
 I usually start putting steps in this time of year and clear shooting lanes then place stands and re-trim in august. But also would like to be able to have everything I need when scouting during bow season to pop up a stand and hunt it right then without wearing myself out and smelling like a boar hog. Appreciate any info.

Thanks, Todd
Pick a Spot

Online Mike Bolin

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2004, 11:52:00 AM »
I have the "treehopper"  system, which I THINK is the same thing. I opted for the bit only and use a battery powered drill. It works great! Mike
Black Widow PLIII  62", 49#@28"
Black Widow TFII 60", 45#@28"
Compton Traditional Bowhunters
NRA Life Member

Offline Broken Arrow

• Trad Bowhunter